Do I have a better way at populating a with menu items?

Free and Premium WordPress Plugins & Themes Forums WordPress Plugins Restaurant Menu Do I have a better way at populating a with menu items?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    None

I started learning WordPress less than two weeks ago and I’m experimenting with the ecosystem by creating a simple pizza restaurant website (which I may also decide to publish).

One of the pages of this site is intended to display a menu with a list of menu items (specifically: pizza name, list of ingredients and price). I wished to use a <table> and so I did.

Not having much experience with WordPress (and CMSs in general) I’m wondering if the solution I attempted is best than any other. Since I didn’t seem to find any APIs (both from WordPress and the Restaurant Menu plugin) I dug a little into the source code and, even more extensively, explored the structure of the MySQL database.

In short, my solution at creating a <table> in a page of the website and populating it can be summarized as follows:

1. I created a custom template page-menu-lb.php in the folder of the child theme I had initiated earlier;
    2. I inspected how the data inputted in the dashboard was stored in the database tables, and learned about the wpdb class for creating custom queries to the database;
    3. I created some .php files to query the database and store the collected data in an objected-oriented fashion. As I am dealing with pizzas, I created a Pizza class with the required attributes.